Fit and Fab.

by kekiandglam8588

I am definitely a “girly” girl and am in no way a gung ho tomboy type, however when I’m not re-styling my wardrobe and playing dress ups I love nothing more than to get into the great outdoors and do something. Whether it is a trip to the snow, mountain biking at the bike park or just a long walk somewhere, I always find it refreshing for mind, body and soul to get out into the fresh air and take in some new scenery.

For awhile there I was unsure about starting a fashion blog because I didn’t seem to fit the fashion blogger mould. Most of my favourite bloggers could be (and are) models – with long legs, perfect hair, skin and nails and a natural photogenic presence. I don’t have any of those! But I’m starting to realise that doesn’t matter. I can’t change my height or my body shape, all I can do is make the most of what I’ve got and keep healthy, happy and active.

My Top Tips for Staying Happy, Healthy and Active:

* Find an activity you love doing. I’m not into team sports, so many people instantly label me as “not sporty”. What they don’t realise is that instead of netball or touch rugby – I surf, snowboard, horse-ride, mountain bike and windsurf – all of which I absolutely LOVE. Once you have found your niche you can start to really enjoy being active and sporty. Think about something you would love to try – maybe it’s rock climbing, running, squash or stand-up paddle boarding – Google it, then get going! Here in clean, green NZ there is no excuse not to be able to find someone who can teach you something in the great outdoors. It’s never too late to try something new and become great at it, so what are you waiting for!

* Hang in there.  Sometimes I feel like a useless, wimpy girl (I am a girl, yes, but you know what I mean!) when I see my friends barreling down steep drops on a downhill section at the bike park and I am still hanging around at the top hesitating! Sometimes it makes me think: What am I doing? I should be at home reading a book on the couch where it’s safe! However, I am learning to embrace my nervous thoughts and “feel the fear and do it anyway!” There is nothing wrong with being scared, just don’t let your fears stop you from doing something you could be really great at. Everybody has to start somewhere and take baby steps, but once you have really mastered something and become awesome at it, it’s a great feeling!

* You’re not perfect. Nobody is perfect, nobody at all. And that’s what makes us all interesting, unique individuals! It is near on impossible to stick to a strict diet and exercise regime, so if you have a weekend of “bad” eating or no exercise, don’t beat yourself up about it! Don’t spend days feeling guilty, just pick up from where you left off and get on with what you were focused on before you momentarily dropped the ball.

* Make time. Even if you are super busy with work and life in general, make time for exercise or doing what you love. Even if all you can squeeze in is a quick walk around the block at lunchtime then make the most of that. Breathe in the fresh air, get your walk on and soak up some sunshine!

* Practice makes perfect. It’s true! Even if you don’t intend on becoming a world class athlete you might as well strive to become the best you can be. This will give you a sense of achievement and who knows what else it might lead to.

* Find a buddy (or ten!) with the same interests. Everything is more fun with a friend. In terms of surfing, mountain biking and snowboarding it is also a lot safer to team up with someone else, or a couple of people. In saying that…..

* Keep safe. While it’s great to challenge and push yourself, know your limits. Remember, actions have consequences and you don’t want those consequences to mean that you can no longer do what you love most!

* Dress size, weight and age are just numbers. What is more important is that you are happy within yourself. You know yourself when you are overweight or out of shape. At present I am a heavier weight than I am used to BUT I am also a lot fitter, healthier and more active than I have ever been. If you are a natural size 14, there is no point trying to starve or exercise yourself down to a size 8. Embrace what you’ve got but above all stay healthy, get fit and keep active.

* Have fun! Competition is great but above all leading an active, healthy lifestyle should be fun and enjoyable. It shouldn’t stress you out – in fact it should do the opposite! And it should be something you do for yourself, to make you happy. If it’s not making you happy – something needs to change, pronto!

Best wishes,

Keki xoxo

