Evening outfit planning

by kekiandglam8588

When I have literally no idea what to wear to an event, date or party I lay everything out like this, piece by piece. And it really helps! Although it doesn’t look exactly like what it would on, it gives me some sort of visual reference to go by.

Tonight is my work Christmas dinner and up until this morning I had NO idea what I was going to wear! I was about to fall back on my fail-safe option {stripey black and white body con dress with black heels, white blazer} when I uncovered this bright yellow, very girly strapless number from years ago. I used to wear it with gold sandals and nothing else but tonight I am thinking about changing up the vibe a little bit and wearing it with these cobalt blue peep-toe booties, a vintage black velvet purse, bold gold earrings, a gold cuff and my trusty white over-sized blazer.

The dress is very girly and flowy, and needs toughening up a little bit with these accessories. It is strapless with a ribbon bow at the front so a necklace would be too much, but my 80’s gold costume earrings are perfect. I love the cobalt blue/canary yellow combo – expect to see more this summer!

Little bit bright, little bit colour blocking, little bit of pretty-meets-tough. Perfect! Now…hopefully it looks as good on as it does laid out like this!!  I will update later with the results!

Outfit: Yellow dress – En Rose {purchased in Byron Bay circa 2006}; blue booties – Number 1 Shoes; white blazer – vintage; cuff – Equip; earrings – vintage; velvet chain purse – vintage.

