Inspiration {Be Nice}

by kekiandglam8588

So… Recently (at the end of last year and since returning to work this week) I have had to deal with a person who is not very nice. Not very nice, indeed. Without saying too much, I have basically done this person a favor by writing an article about him in a magazine. He volunteered to be the focus of this article and myself and my co-workers have done absolutely everything in our means to accommodate his wishes. He has responded by being rude, arrogant, belittling and just plain mean.

Now, I don’t deal well with confrontation. The first time this person yelled at me over the phone I had to retreat to the bathrooms for a good five minutes to prevent tears ruining my mascara and to cool down so I didn’t run away from my desk for the rest of the day. Today this person has berated me yet again, but this time – instead of getting teary and upset – it has made me mad. Real mad. How dare this stranger speak to me like this? Push his negative thoughts and attitude onto me, an innocent bystander. After this afternoon’s confrontation I started angrily typing an email to my boss, explaining how horrible this person is to deal with and how I no longer want anything to do with him and I …. I …. I hate him!

THEN, I read this:

I took a deep breath, and smiled. This person may be angry, unhappy with life and hating the cards he has been dealt, but that doesn’t mean I have to. My life is good (better than good), I love and laugh on a daily basis, I find happiness and beauty in the smallest of things, I take time out to watch the sunrise, smell a flower, listen to the rain. I don’t hate or get angry at trivial things and I have a great deal to look forward to and be thankful for. I feel sorry for someone who has to feel so angry, so unhappy with the world. What a waste of energy that must be, how exhausted this person must feel.

My dears, don’t let angry, negative people bring you down. Don’t let their feelings rub off on you. Be happy, be thankful, be NICE. Don’t be afraid to love, to laugh and to appreciate even the smallest of things. Don’t forget to take time out for yourself, tell the people you care about that you love them, smile, enjoy life’s simple pleasures like a cup of coffee or a walk along the beach. And remember:

I know it’s a mega post but sometimes we need to remind ourselves of these things. Back with more fashion-y, beautiful, inspiring, happy, NICE things tomorrow! Xx

Photo credits: Wanderlust + Co blog, We Heart It

