I Thrift! {You Can Too!}

by kekiandglam8588

Wearing: necklace – Mangawhai Markets; blouse – vintage thrifted; soft wool bat-wing sleeve jumper vintage thrifted; jeans – old, rolled up; silver mettalic loafers – thrifted; bag – thrifted.

I am BIG on thrifting. I scour op shops for everything from vintage dresses to everyday-wear; household items to second-hand books. Being thrifty is of course a huge advantage while I am undertaking The 365 Fashion Challenge {which you can read about here} where I can only spend $30 a month, or $365 over the next year {!!!}

So far this month I have spent the grand total of $22. I am wearing the entire $22 worth here in this outfit, to prove to you that you don’t need a wallet full of cash to put together a cute look! Isn’t this very off-duty Audrey Hepburn? The white blouse is perfect for work {it has a pleated pattern down the front which I will show you another time} with black jeans or high waist pants/skirt – it cost me $5. The bat-wing jumper is a nice black basic, it is sooo soft and warm, and was also $5. The necklace is an interesting mix of bone {cow, apparently!!} and bronze-coloured baubles, and cost $7 at a little village market stall. The bag was $2 and is perfect for every occasion, it has lots of compartments too which I always need! The shoes are super cute, on-trend and were a steal at $3. I bought everything from two op shops – the Salvation Army and St Johns Ambulance shop.

Perhaps you are into thrifting, perhaps you aren’t but when you’re on a tight budget like I now am, it really is the ultimate choice – where else can you buy a whole wardrobe of clothes for the price of one dress? Throughout my thrifting adventures I have found some incredible treasures, including: a tan genuine leather cropped motorcycle jacket {for $2}, chocolate brown wool Armani dress trousers, two 1950’s prom dresses, an Oscar de la Renta very vintage scarf, numerous Oroton purses, a Coach bag, Louis Vuitton wallet, a long brown fur coat {for the hefty sum of $4} …. ok now I’m bragging. But, you get my point. Search a little, gain a lot – that’s how thrifting works, but I’ll get right into that another time.

Watch this space – I will be posting more about thrifting, how to op-shop successfully, how to wear vintage and how to make the right secondhand purchases, very very soon!

Xx

