Simplicity {It Speaks Volumes}

by kekiandglam8588

Presently I am in the process of simplifying. I have detoxed my wardrobe and cut it down to about half of what it was.

When I did this, I was absolutely RUTHLESS. Instead of looking at pieces and thinking ‘I have only worn it once, but I will definitely wear it at some stage’. I looked at those worn-once-only items, saw the glaringly obvious reason why I would have only worn it once and realised that this usually means I will never wear it again. And onto the pile it went.

I divided my pile of clothing into two. One being the pile I would try to sell online and the other, the pile I will take to the local markets on Sunday. Last time I did this I got rid of heaps of items and made some extra cash while doing so, so it paid off.

I want to condense my wardrobe down to the essential, classic pieces and build from there. I have {or make that, had} a tonne of frilly, girly dresses and skirts, quirky, kitschy, vintage, retro items. Most of them don’t go with anything else in my wardrobe, most of them I never wear. I’m growing a little tired of playing dress ups all the time and not always feeling 110% comfortable in what I’m wearing because I have piled on layers of different colours, patterns, thrifted and vintage things. I want a look that’s more chic, minimalist – more of a classic aesthetic.

So, I have stripped bare my wares and am starting over. Building a good, solid capsule wardrobe is going to take time, especially while trying to stick to my budget, but it will definitely be worth it in the end. I hope it will mean I spend less time staring into the abyss that is my closet, seeing a chaotic mess of prints, patterns and colours and more time actually out and about wearing clothes I feel comfortable and confident in, because at the end of the day that’s what matters most.

