Daily Outfit {NZ Fashion Festival}

by kekiandglam8588

Wearing: Dress – borrowed from Lisa {thanks dear Kitty!}; shoes – Number One Shoes; clutch – Glassons

Neil and I attended the opening of NZ Fashion Festival last night. The opening party was a fun cocktail event, with delicious Chambord infused drinks and LOTS of uber stylish people.

Fashion Festival is set to be a fun week, with loads of events going on around the city – Auckland is about to be taken over by fashion and shopping so be warned! I am attending a couple of shows mid-week so will keep you all posted on what I see and do.

About my outfit: The invitation said “dress in your cocktail best” and I freaked out! I really had no idea what that actually means these days. In New Zealand we are known for being very casual and not ever really dressing up, no matter what the occasion, and I thought being Fashion Festival everyone would be dressed very fashion-y rather than in traditional cocktail attire. I think this dress was perfect for the occasion, for me. I didn’t want to try too hard by wearing something non-dressy, trying to look uber fashion-y. Instead I stuck to what I knew would suit me – a cute dress, plain heels and big hair. I think it all looked ok, and when we walked into the venue I felt neither over – nor under – dressed so I guess that was a successful result!

On that note: remember that no matter what event you are attending, dress up to the nine’s if that’s what you are into – but never sacrifice your comfort. Heels that rub or a dress that falls down {i.e. this one if I didn’t add the straps} makes for an uncomfortable and awkward night!

Here’s my man looking very dapper! He was the perfect partner for this event – and we had lots of secret little giggles about the men wearing lipstick and skirts. Seriously. Sorry, I love fashion but there are some things I will never quite understand!

