Travel {Raglan}

by kekiandglam8588

Raglan – for those who don’t know – is a beachside town in the Waikato region of New Zealand. It is home to one of the best surfing spots in New Zealand – and the world – and is one of my favourite places to visit. The vibe is laid back and local, the community is arty and Eco-friendly and I like that it feels like you’re a world away from anything when you’re there. The actual beach is wild and rugged and is not particularly ideal for swimming, but the dramatic stretch of black sand makes for a stunning vista and a great place to take a stroll and breathe in the fresh West Coast air.

We stayed at Solscape – an Eco-retreat high on a hill overlooking the ocean and one of the main surf spots. I hate to say it, but I probably have a carbon footprint the size of Boeing 747 …. so Eco and me? We’re not really very well acquainted. Needless to say I have certainly never stayed at an Eco-retreat and was nervous to think what might await us. Don’t get me wrong – I’m no stranger to using a “longdrop” toilet or campsite facilities, but in this instance I was imagining a congregation of hippies awaiting our arrival then forcing us to do pottery classes and eat tofu. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Solscape is a quiet, peaceful retreat with million-dollar views and an incredible range of accommodation … including this:

We didn’t stayed in the earthen dome pictured above, although now that I have seen it I wouldn’t mind giving it a go! Instead, we spent the night in a cabin of sorts, made from un-treated, non-toxic timber and complete with a composting toilet {looks and acts just like a normal toilet though, rest assured} and a system of rubbish bins that took a little getting used to – recycling, scraps, regular rubbish, etc. It was super cosy and cute and my only wish now is that it was a hot, summer’s evening so that we could have eaten out dinner outside overlooking the ocean. Instead we made our way to Costa’s Pizza which was affordable and delicious, and is run by a lovely lady who was the perfect host.

Our cabin came equipped with fresh, organic coffee from the local Raglan Roast and after sipping back a cup of that in the morning, we headed back into town to The Shack for breakfast. Yet again, outstanding service and incredible food. Now THIS is my kind of place – white washed timber walls and retro signs, an old school surfboard hanging on the wall and comfy couches to chill out on. Bliss!

Can’t wait to get back to Solscape and Raglan again in the summer, a 10/10 weekend!!

